Local News

Mayor serves second term

Monday 24 May 2021

The Mayor of Hertford for 2021-22 will be Councillor Bob Derring, supported by vice-mayor Cllr. Jane Sartin.

Both councillors filled the role for the previous civil year 2020-21 and will continue until May 2022.

It is not unheard of for Mayors to serve two consecutive years. The late Cllr.Linda Radford served from 2015-2017, Charles Lesbett Larking from 1978-80, and Peter Checkley from 1976-78. Councillors frequently return to the role after a number of years, with Sally Newton serving in 2006 and 2011, and Peter Ruffles in 1983 and 2004. 

Councillor Deering also services on Hertfordshire County Council and East Herts District Council, where he is Chairman of the Development Management Committee.

Click here for more news

This hyperlocal news section is currently an experimental feature of Discover Hertford Online. It is an evolving service so if you have any comments or feedback you can use our forum, Twitter or the contact form.

If you have a press release you'd like to send us please email newsdesk(at)hertford.net.

If you're interested in sponsoring this news service please see our advertising options.

You can also visit our news archive that features stories from 2009-2014.

News Archive