Today is Wednesday 21 February 2024 (T)
Graphic image

Health Authorities

NHS Hertfordshire

NHS Hertfordshire came into being in 1st April 2010. It was formed by merging East & North Hertfordshire PCT with West Hertfordshire PCT

Primary Care Trusts are responsible for working with local people to improve their health and to make sure that primary care services (for example those NHS services provided by your GP, community nurse, health visitor, therapist or school health advisor) are delivered to the highest possible standard.

PCTs also arrange healthcare for local people provided in: General and specialist hospitals, care homes, clinics and community settings and patient's homes.

East & North Herts NHS Trust

The East & North Herts NHS Trust is responsible for running Hertford County Hospital, The Lister Hospital in Stevenage and the QEII Hospital in Welwyn Garden City.

Hertfordshire Partnership NHS Foundation Trust

The Hertfordshire Partnership NHS Foundation Trust provides mental health and social care services including Adults of Working Age, Older Adults, Children and Adolescents, Drug and Alcohol services and Specialist Learning Disabilities services.

The Trust works in close Partnership with the Hertfordshire County Council and also works with other NHS organisations to promote and support mental health in the community.

East of England Ambulance Service NHS Trust

The East of England Ambulance Service was created on July 1, 2006 by merging the three services covering Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire, Essex, Hertfordshire, Norfolk and Suffolk.

The Trust provides ambulance and paramedic services to the East of England, including 273 frontline ambulance, 215 marked response cars, 237 non-emergency ambulances and 25 major incident vehicles.

The organisation operates 110 ambulance stations and three control rooms