|Today is Sunday, 19 May 2013|
Until 1967 a mill stood on the site that is now gardens next to Castle Hall. It is believed that a mill stood on this site for nearly 900 years, one being recorded in The Domesday Book. In 1855 the mill was bought by Edmund Illot, who put his 14 year old son in charge. Hertfordshire was a major corn producing area in the 18th and 19th Centuries and Hetford benefitted from it's links with London via the river and a thiving market existed in the town.
Until December 1893, tolls used to be charged for vehicles and animals crossing the bridge.
Click on any picture on this page for a larger image with information.
Wickham's Brewery stood on land now occupied by Town Mill Mews. For many years the site was derilict and has only recently been developed.
The first Castle Cinema opened in 1914 between the town mill and the Castle gates. It was modernised in 1939 but was damaged by a V2 flying bomb that landed in 1944. It was repaired and re-opened in 1946, eventually closing in 1959 and was demolished after standing empty for many years.
On 2nd July 1944 a V2 flying bomb fell on Mill Bridge causing widespread damage. The premises sustaining most damage were Illots shop next to the Town Mill, Nicholls Greengrocer and Rush's leather goods, which stood on what is now the green next to the Castle Hall.
Period photographs courtesy of Hertford Museum
Discover Hertford Online is a privately funded independent website
designed, hosted and maintained by the hertsWEB Community Network.
© 1998-2013 hertsWEB Community Network.
Contact Details Advertising Disclaimer Privacy